Bridal fashion story: Great British style

Bridal fashion story: Great British style
Our spring/summer fashion story celebrates Great British style, featuring leading designer names and shot against the backdrop of Holmewood Hall. Gown by Sassi Holford, bag by Dune London

Celebrating bridal fashion from star British names in wedding gowns and bridal accessories, our spring/summer fashion story is shot on location against the backdrop of classic country house wedding venue Holmewood Hall

Photography: Roberto Aguilar; Stylist: Antonia Kraskowski

Bridal fashion at its best, our spring/summer bridal fashion story celebrates great British style, with both star names in the world of bridal gown design and bespoke wedding gown designer-makers every bride-to-be should know. We’ve kept the theme of British style for accessories too, with gorgeous bridal shoes, jewels and accessories from UK talents.

With such a glittering array of bridal fashion greats, we chose the perfect backdrop for our shoot – Holmewood Hall. This glamorous exclusive-use wedding venue, newly opened as part of Country House Weddings’ portfolio of gorgeous country manor houses, features everything you’d want for a timeless wedding in the English countryside – fine grounds, awe-inspiring spaces for both ceremony and celebration and the most sumptuous bridal suite imaginable.

For shoot team credits and suppliers, see slides 11 & 12.

1. Daisy chain

The Daisy dress by Louise Selby, shown here with shoes by Emmy London

Louise Selby is definitely a designer to know, with superb artisanship and a bespoke approach that makes her a real favourite among brides. We love the Daisy dress from her new collection, with on-trend high neckline and fitted sleeves and a chic fitted silhouette.

Daisy dress, £2,250 by Louise Selby; shoes, £465 by Emmy London; pearl headband, £10 by Luxe Koko.

2. Fairytale bride

Jenny Packham’s Rapunzel dress offers glittering embellishment

One of the most celebrated British designers for both bridal and eveningwear, Jenny Packham showcases a truly fairytale wedding gown with Rapunzel, a day-to-evening ivory silk chiffon design studded with beautiful crystals. The stunning flowers for this shoot were created by Keepsakes of Yaxley, a recommended supplier at Holmewood Hall.

Rapunzel dress, £10,999 by Jenny Packham.

3. Crystal gaze

Rapunzel was included in the Victoria & Albert Museum’s ballgown exhibition

This detail from the Rapunzel gown shows the fabulous jewel embellishment on the bodice. This design – which features some 5,000 Swarovski crystals on bodice and skirt – is a re-introduction by Jenny Packham. It was chosen to appear in a Victoria & Albert ballgown exhibition and has since been made available exclusively through the designer’s Mayfair store.

Ring, £595 by Astley Clarke; earrings, stylist’s own; Rapunzel dress, £10,999 by Jenny Packham.

4. Ballgown glamour

This classic gown for a ballroom party is by The Couture Gallery

This classic style for a ballroom celebration is designed by Britta Kjerkegaard at The Couture Gallery. Featuring a strapless elongated bodice with fine embellishment and a floaty silk organza trumpet skirt, the design is made to order.

Rosalyn couture gown, £6,850 by Britta Kjerkegaard at The Couture Gallery; clutch bag, £1,195 by Jimmy Choo; headband, £22 by Luxe Koko; ring, £235 by Emily Mortimer; bangle, £175 by Astley Clarke.

5. Botanic dream

Amanda Wakeley’s Eleanor dress has delicious fine detailing

From Amanda Wakeley’s elegant bridal gown collection, Eleanor is created from hand-corded embroidery on a sheer mesh. It features on-trend statement bell sleeves and has a soft fishtail skirt.

Eleanor wedding dress, £4,995 by Amanda Wakeley; ring, £150 and necklace, £175 by Astley Clarke.

6. Fine romance

Hermione de Paula’s stunning gown from the Midnight Rose collection features dramatic sleeves

Hermione de Paula is a bridal fashion designer we love for her romantic and high-glamour approach to wedding-day dressing. Personalisation is a speciality and there’s a rich floral theme running through many of her designs. This showstopping gown from her Midnight Rose collection is a shining example, with beautiful embroidery and dramatic feature sleeves.

Wedding dress, £6,275 by Hermione de Paula; earrings, £110 by Astley Clarke; ring, £235 by Emily Mortimer.

7. Shine bright

Temperley London’s gorgeous sequinned dress shown here with Emmy London heels

Temperley London is a go-to for romantic and ethereal bridal fashion with lovely handcrafted details, and this Daphne gown from the new-season collection is studded with mother of pearl and antique crystal embellishment. It’s shown here with equally glamorous Emmy London shoes.

Daphne wedding dress, £3,995 by Temperley Bridal; wedding shoes, £1,195 by Emmy London.

8. Lush lace

Louise Selby’s Honeysuckle gown features glorious Chantilly lace

Beautifully simple and chic, this Honeysuckle gown by Louise Selby features Chantilly lace over a camisole top. The elegant skirt is slimline to the front and features a Chantilly lace train.

Honeysuckle wedding dress, £2,250 and veil £350, both by Louise Selby; ring, £235 by Emily Mortimer.

9. Jewel drape

Amanda Wakeley’s Olivia gown and Lalage Beaumont Fonteyn bag

Amanda Wakeley’s Olivia gown is bias cut, creating a form-fitting silhouette. The open back has a dramatic draped jewel detail. We’ve paired it with Lalage Beaumont’s classic Fonteyn handbag.

Olivia wedding gown, £2,995 by Amanda Wakeley; Fonteyn bag, £550 by Lalage Beaumont; earrings, £135 by Monica Vinader.

10. Grand entrance

Sassi Holford’s off-the-shoulder Elspeth gown with Dune London clutch

Sassi Holford is a go-to for great British style, always offering elegance with a fashion-forward twist. This Elspeth gown is a classic, and the flattering off-the-shoulder cut is perfectly balanced with the flowing skirt. Paired here with a glitzy Dune clutch, it’s the perfect ensemble for a timeless country house wedding in the English countryside.

Elspeth dress, £3,795 by Sassi Holford; clutch bag, £190 by Dune London; ring, £235 by Emily Mortimer.

11. Fashion story: shoot credits

Gown by Louise Selby, shot on location at Holmewood Hall

Shot on location at Holmewood Hall This elegant exclusive-use property in Cambridgeshire is part of the portfolio of Country House Weddings; holmewood-hall.co.uk

Photography: Roberto Aguilar; photoaguilar.com
Styling & production: Antonia Kraskowski; antoniakraskowski.com
Hair & make-up: Jenni Davis
; jennidavismakeup.com
using NARS and Paul Mitchell
Model: Maddy Taylor at Premier Model Management
Stylist’s Assistant: Gavrielle Weiss
Photographer’s Assistant: Deimante Sprainaityte

Flowers: Keepsakes of Yaxley; keepsakesofyaxley.com

12. Fashion story: Shoot contacts

Gown by Hermione de Paula, shot on location at Holmewood Hall

Amanda Wakeley: amandawakeley.com
Astley Clarke: astleyclarke.com
The Couture Gallery: thecouturegallery.com
Dune London: dunelondon.com
Emily Mortimer: emilymortimer.co.uk
Emmy London: emmylondon.com
Hermione de Paula: hermionedepaula.com
Jenny Packham: jennypackham.com
Jimmy Choo: jimmychoo.com
Lalage Beaumont: lalagebeaumont.com
Louise Selby: louiseselby.com
Luxe Koko: luxekoko.com
Monica Vinader: monicavinader.com
Sassi Holford: sassiholford.com
Temperley Bridal: temperleylondon.com

 

14. Related